Skip to main content

Politics and International Relations (PIR): News


PIR awards undergraduate prizes

Exceptional performances by four graduating students were recognized by the Department in its final Exam Board of the undergraduate year.

Katherine Baird and Katherine Flynn share the D. P. Heatley Prize for Excellence in Politics. Sarah Nash won the new Russell Keat Dissertation Prize, and James Turley was Runner Up.

Mark Aspinwall, Head of PIR said of their performances: ‘the Department was simply floored by their work. The two Katherines put in amazing performances in their final year. Sarah and James clearly made great use of their 3rd years abroad to write thoughtful, sophisticated, insightful dissertations. Sarah’s mark of 90 hits a level we have rarely, if ever, seen.’

PIR offers its warm congratulations to all four students for their outstanding work, and is delighted and proud to award them these prestigious prizes.

The Heatley Prize is the Department’s longstanding award for academic achievement. The Russell Keat Dissertation Prize was created this year to recognize excellence in the dissertation, and is named for a former member of staff, Professor Russell Keat.

Freshers 2013