Skip to main content

Politics and International Relations (PIR): People

Search

People

Academic Staff

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
No Photo Lucy Abbott Career Development Fellow in Politics and International Relations of the Middle East Cybersecurity,IR and the Middle East,The Arab World,Regionalism,Public Sphere,Digital technologies,The Gulf States,Jordan,Process Tracing 3.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 6508254
Lucy.Abbott@ed.ac.uk
Jamie Allinson Programme Director MSc IR of the Middle East, Co-director MSc IR of the Middle East with Arabic Decolonisation,Historical sociology,International Relations,International theory,Marxism,Middle East Politics 2.01. Guidance and Feedback hours, Wednesdays 10-12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6509925
J.Allinson@ed.ac.uk
Malcolm Anderson Professor Emeritus   malcolm.anderson1@gmail.com
Mark Aspinwall Honorary Fellow Mexico,Mexican politics,Political economy of North America,Political economy,Institutions and institutional change,norm diffusion,governance,development,civil society   58 George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1730
Mark.Aspinwall@ed.ac.uk
Hayley Bennett Research Fellow, Academy of Government Contractualism,Welfare Markets,Unemployment,Labour Market,Poverty,Welfare reform politics,Welfare-to-Work,Regionalism,Third Sector,Inequality,public service reform,Public policy,social enterprise,Devolution and social security,Social Policy 4f1, 4.02 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 6511325
Hayley.Bennett(at)ed.ac.uk
Shaun Bevan Senior Lecturer in Quantitative Political Science; Deputy Director of Research (Data), School of Social and Political Science; Director of Postgraduate Admissions (Research), Politics and International Relations Agenda-Setting,Public policy,interest groups,Public Opinion,political behaviour,Time Series Analysis,Event History Analysis,Measurement 2.13B Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 650 4128
Shaun.Bevan@ed.ac.uk
Andrea Birdsall Lecturer in International Relations; Co-Director of the MSc Global Crime, Justice and Security Human rights,International Relations,International Law & International Relations,Humanitarian intervention,Norms,Counterterrorism 4.25 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 650 6974
a.birdsall@ed.ac.uk
Elizabeth Bomberg Professor of Environmental Politics; Head of Politics and International Relations Environment,Policy,Sustainability,shale governance,community energy 3.06 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4248
e.bomberg@ed.ac.uk
Christina Boswell Director of Research, School of Social & Political Science Political Sociology,Use of Research in Policy,Immigration and asylum policy,Politics of immigration,Public policy 3.21 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 9924
Christina.Boswell@ed.ac.uk
Julia Calvert Career Development Fellow, International Political Economy International political economy,International Law & International Relations,Political Sociology,International development,trade,foreign investment,investor-state dispute settlement,Extractive industries and resource governance,Latin America,Canadian foreign economic policy 3.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 4752
Julia.calvert@ed.ac.uk
Alan Convery Lecturer in Politics Britain,Multi-level party politics,British Politics,Conservative Party,Conservative politics,Scottish Politics,Welsh politics 2.14 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 8255
Alan.Convery@ed.ac.uk
Philip Cook Lecturer in Political Theory; Co-Director, SKAPE (Centre for Science, Knowledge, and Policy); Editor-in-Chief, Res Publica; Convenor, Political Theory Research Group Political Theory,Political Philosophy,Social Justice,Education and Schools,Children and Childhood,Family Relationships,Children and Democracy,Contractualism,Children and Young People,Child Labour 3.29 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 651 1577
Philip.Cook@ed.ac.uk
Laura Cram Professor of European Politics and Director of NRLabs Neuropolitics Research European public policy,European Identity,Neuropolitics of identity,Neuropolitics of public policy,experimental research,fMRI studies,physiological studies,behavioural games,identity triggers,national identity,symbols,Brexit processes, Scotland and EU Room 2 02, Flat 2F2 
18 Buccleuch Place
0131 651 5571
Laura.Cram@ed.ac.uk
Elizabeth Cripps Senior Lecturer in Political Theory; Associate Director of the Just World Institute Climate change ethics,Climate justice,Collective responsibility,Justice and non-human animals,Population and justice,Political theory,Political philosophy,Justice and environment,Parental duties Rm 3.30 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 651 1948
elizabeth.cripps@ed.ac.uk
Chad Damro Senior Lecturer of Politics and IR; Co-Director of Europa Institute; Jean Monnet Chair and Director of the Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence Room 2.02, 21 George Square 
+44 (0)131 650 6698
Chad.Damro@ed.ac.uk
Sara Rich Dorman Senior Lecturer in Politics; Director of Undergraduate Teaching (DUGT) in PIR African Politics,nationalism and the post-colonial state in Africa,Citizenship and belonging,Elections,State formation 4.08 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4239
Sara.Dorman@ed.ac.uk
Claire Duncanson Senior Lecturer in International Relations gender,gender and international relations,International peacebuilding,International Peace and Security,gender and security,Feminism,peacekeeping,Masculinities,The Military in Global Politics Rm 4.24 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4624
c.p.duncanson@ed.ac.uk
Oliver Escobar Lecturer in Public Policy; Co-Director of What Works Scotland Public participation,Policy Processes,Public services,participatory and deliberative democracy,collaborative governance and partnerships,Community Planning,public dialogue and deliberation,facilitation and mediation,participation practitioners,policy work and policy workers,democratic innovations,Interpretive Policy Analysis,political ethnography,Mixed methods,in/equalities 3.04 Chrystal Macmillan Building
+44 (0)131 651 3783
oliver.escobar@ed.ac.uk
Carmen Gebhard Lecturer in Politics and IR; Deputy Director (PG Taught) of the Graduate School; Jean Monnet Module Convenor 2015-2018; Programme Director of the MSc International and European Politics; European Union's Foreign and Security Policy,Comparative European Politics,Small States,Security and defence cooperation,Inter-organizationalism 4.20 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6504622
C.Gebhard@ed.ac.uk
Marc Geddes Lecturer in British Politics British politics,parliamentary studies,UK Parliament,interpretive political science,evidence in politics,ethnography Office B.09 
19 George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 3784
marc.geddes@ed.ac.uk
Iain Hardie Senior Lecturer in International Relations Comparative Political Economy,International Political Economy,Financial Markets,Financialization B.2 
22 George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4249
iain.hardie@ed.ac.uk
Tim Hayward Professor of Environmental Political Theory; Director of the Just World Institute. Global justice,political theory,Human rights,environmental values,fairness,Political philosophy 3.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4238
tim.hayward@ed.ac.uk
Ailsa Henderson Professor of Political Science political behaviour,political culture,Regionalism,voting and elections,comparative territorial politics,UK,Scotland,Quebec-Scotland comparisons,European values,Public opinion and Political attitudes 3.09 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1618
ailsa.henderson@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Hom Lecturer in International Relations | Deputy Programme Director - MSc International Relations classical realism,International Relations,International theory,just war theory,Social constructivism,Narratives,methodology in the social sciences,timing / time / temporality,International Security,critical security studies,Process / Figurational Sociology,disciplinary history 3.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6504688
Andrew.Hom@ed.ac.uk
Kristen Hopewell Senior Lecturer in International Political Economy International Relations,Global political economy,global governance,Development,emerging powers,BRICs,Brazil,India,China,US hegemony,industrial policy,developmental state 4th Floor, Room 4.03 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 4245
kristen.hopewell@ed.ac.uk
Jana Hönke Honorary Fellow Business and security,African politics,contentious politics,critical security studies,Resource politics,Non-state actors,practice theories,Postcolonialism,Transnational politics,Security and development interventions,political geographies of infrastructure   J.Hoenke@ed.ac.uk; j.hoenke@rug.nl; @PoCoSecurity
Charlie Jeffery Senior Vice Principal; Professor of Politics Regionalism,Multi-level governance,Public attitudes,Public policy,Scottish Politics,Territorial Politics  Charles Stewart House
9-16 Chambers Street
+44 (0)131 650 6443
Charlie.Jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Juliet Kaarbo Professor of Foreign Policy; Co-Director of the Centre for Security Research (on leave 2017-2018) Foreign Policy Analysis,political psychology 4.21 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4252
j.kaarbo@ed.ac.uk
Russell Keat Professor Emeritus   Russell.Keat@ed.ac.uk
Meryl Kenny Lecturer in Gender and Politics women and politics,gender and political institutions,Feminist institutionalism,political parties,Political recruitment,Political representation,Territorial Politics 4.29 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1332
M.Kenny@ed.ac.uk
Harshan Kumarasingham Lecturer in British Politics British Politics,Decolonisation,Comparative Politics,Political History,South Asia,Commonwealth Politics and History,Monarchy,Australasia,British Empire,Constitutional Politics,Constitutional History,Parliamentary Studies,Westminster Model,State-Building,South-East Asia,Executive Power 3.04 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 4750
Harshan.Kumarasingham@ed.ac.uk
Fiona Mackay Professor of Politics; Director of genderED gender and political institutions,gender mainstreaming,gender and public policy,Feminist institutionalism,women's movements,International Organisations,Feminism,Institutions and institutional change,organizations and institutions,Political representation,gender based violence,women and politics,Inequality & diversity 2.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4244
F.S.Mackay@ed.ac.uk
Luke March Professor of Post-Soviet and Comparative Politics; Deputy Director of the Princess Dashkova Russia Centre; Deputy Head of Politics and International Relations Russia,Moldova,Radical left,post-Soviet politics,Populism,Social movements,Ukraine,Protest 3.08 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4241
l.march@ed.ac.uk
Nicola McEwen Professor of Territorial Politics; Associate Director, Centre on Constitutional Change. Research Leader, ESRC UK in a Changing Europe Territorial Politics,Scottish Politics,Devolution,Multi-level governance,multi-level energy policy,welfare devolution,voting and elections,federal states,identity politics,nationalism 3.05 St John's Land
St John's Street
+44 (0)131 651 1831
N.McEwen@ed.ac.uk
Mihaela Mihai Senior Lecturer in Political Theory Critical Social and Political Theory,Arts and politics,gender,Architecture and political theory,Political emotions,Political memory and historical injustice,Comparative constitutionalism 3F1 room 3.21 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)1316506636
Mihaela.Mihai@ed.ac.uk
James Mitchell Professor of Public Policy Academy of Government B.02 
21 George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 5767
James.Mitchell@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Neal Senior Lecturer in Politics and International Relations; Co-Director of the Centre for Security Research (CeSeR); Programme Director MSc International Relations International Security,War on terror,Discourse Theory,Sociological Theory,cultural theory,political theory,UK,Britain,critical theory,critical security studies,securitization,constructivism,Postmodern Governance,poststructuralism,Scotland,Scottish Politics 4.22 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4236
andrew.neal@ed.ac.uk
Kieran Oberman Lecturer in Politics political theory,Political philosophy,Global justice,just war theory,Immigration,Immigration and asylum policy,Distributive justice,Social justice Room 4.23 Chrystal Macmillan Building
01316508266
Kieran.Oberman@ed.ac.uk
Pontus Odmalm Senior Lecturer in Politics Comparative European Politics,Politics of immigration,Citizenship,Political parties 3.20 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3926
Pontus.Odmalm (at) ed.ac.uk
Ugur Ozdemir Lecturer in Quantitative Political Science Comparative Political Behavior,Spatial Models of Elections,Quantitative Methods,Positive Political Theory 2.13c (Enter through 2.13a) Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3990
Ugur.Ozdemir@ed.ac.uk
Nicola Perugini Lecturer in International Relations Global justice,Human rights,Politics of human rights,Humanitarianism,International Law & International Relations,Critical legal studies,Middle East Politics,Israel-Palestine,Postcolonial theory,Critical Theory,Political violence 3.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6515472
nicola.perugini@ed.ac.uk
John Peterson Professor of International Politics US-European relations,EU politics and policy,US foreign policy,EU trade policy 2.14 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3023
john.peterson@ed.ac.uk
Charles Raab Professorial Fellow 3.18 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 4243
c.d.raab@ed.ac.uk
Charlotte Rommerskirchen Lecturer in International Political Economy European Union,Financial Markets,Mixed Methods,International Political Economy,Comparative Political Economy,Debt Management 3.17 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 651 3861
Charlotte.Rommerskirchen@ed.ac.uk
JP Singh Chair and Professor of Culture and Political Economy; Director, Institute for International Cultural Relations International trade and development,Information and communication technologies for development (ICT4D),Cultural economics,identity politics,Diplomacy,Negotiations,global governance   22 George Square
44(0)131 651 1624
JP.Singh@ed.ac.uk
Ewan Stein Senior Lecturer in International Relations; Postgraduate Advisor Political Islam,Middle East Politics,Egyptian politics,Arab political thought,Arab-Israeli conflict,state-society relations,International Relations of the Middle East 4.27 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
0131 650 4264
ewan.stein@ed.ac.uk
Wilfried Swenden Senior Lecturer in Politics; Co-Director Centre of South Asian Studies Federalism,intergovernmental relations,Governing in divided societies,Indian Politics,Territorial Politics,Multi-level governance,Comparative Politics 3.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4255
W.Swenden@ed.ac.uk
Mathias Thaler Senior Lecturer in Political Theory; Programme Director International Political Theory Genocide,Global justice,Humanitarian intervention,Ideology,International theory,Marxism,Multiculturalism,Reconciliation,Political forgiveness,Democratic theory,Political violence and non-violence,Pragmatism,Critical Theory,Just War theory Room 4.09 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6515769
mathias.thaler@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Thompson Chair of Public Policy and Citizenship Quantitative Methods,Public policy,Citizenship,perception measurement,surveys,statistical analysis,involvement,Participation,European Union,Health policy 3.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1562
andrew.thompson@ed.ac.uk
Oliver Turner Lecturer in International Relations US politics,US foreign policy,US-China/Asia relations,British foreign policy in Asia,Critical geopolitics,International relations of East/South East Asia,Decolonisation 3.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
0131 651 5678
oliver.turner@ed.ac.uk