Skip to main content

Politics and International Relations (PIR): People

Search

People

PhD Students

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Gavin Barber PhD Student Political parties,Comparative European Politics,Organisation Studies   G.R.Barber@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sayra van den Berg PhD Student peacebuilding,Transitional justice,Peace and conflict   S.VandenBerg@ed.ac.uk
Francesco Bertoldi PhD Student Territorial politics,Nationalism and Devolution,Elections,Ethnic conflict,Northern Ireland,Ireland,Power-sharing agreements,Electoral Systems in Divided Societies,Identity Politics,Social Identity Theory,Discourse Analysis,Ethnicity and Identity   f.bertoldi@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ekaterina Braginskaia PhD Student Muslim minority representation,Comparative Politics,Russian Politics,Institutionalist approaches and social movement organistions,Migration and citizenship   ekaterina.braginskaia@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Byrne PhD Student   +44 755 489 3056
aqbyrne@gmail.com
Thomas Charman PhD Student Gender,gender and international relations,gender based violence,sexual violence,Gender and conflict,Masculinities,Militarised Masculinities,Sexual violence against men,Feminism,Poststructuralism,Discourse Analysis,Frame Analysis   tcharman@ed.ac.uk
Christina Dineen PhD Student Contemporary political theory,Political philosophy,Applied ethics,Ethics and morality,Resource allocation,Well-being,Bioethics   Doctoral Researcher
christina.dineen@ed.ac.uk
Hilary Cornish PhD Student Insurgency & Counter-Insurgency,Armed Forces,International Relations of the Middle East,The Military in Global Politics,Gender & International Relations,Masculinities   h.a.cornish@sms.ed.ac.uk
Yazmin Morlet Corti PhD Student privacy,online privacy,Cyberspace as political space,Political Culture,policy prefrences,public policy,Comparative Politics,Big Data Analytics,big data,Science and technology,data protection   Yazmin.Morlet@ed.ac.uk
Cleo Davies PhD Student International Organisations,European studies,The politics of financial market supervision and regulation,International Political Economy   cleo.davies@ed.ac.uk
Kathy Dodworth PhD Student Theories of Legitimacy,Social capital,Foucault,state-society relations,NGOs and Development,Non-state actors,Bourdieu,Ethnography,Tanzania,African studies   kathy.dodworth@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Drever PhD Student Political philosophy,political philosophy methodology,Marxism,Rawlsianism,critical theory   a.w.drever-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
Adrian Favero PhD Student Europeanization,European Union,Identity formation,Globalizationsation and personal life,urban sociology,identity politics,Central Eastern Europe   A.Favero@ed.ac.uk
Louis Fletcher PhD Student History of International Political Thought,Genealogical Critique,Political Realism,Critical Theory,Democratic Peace,Philosophy of History,Peace Research,Utopianism   louis.fletcher@ed.ac.uk
Barbara Gaweda PhD Student gender,post-communism,post-Soviet politics,Central Eastern Europe,Feminism,Feminist institutionalism,Ukraine,Discourse Theory,Feminist Research,Postcolonialism,Europeanization,nationalism,Inequality,Feminist theory/research,Sexuality,discourse analysis,Gender & intersectionality   B.J.Gaweda@sms.ed.ac.uk
Victor Gigleux PhD Student International Relations,Foreign Policy,Small States,European studies,International peace-keeping operations,EU external relations,Role Theory,Foreign Policy Analysis   V.A.Gigleux@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alice Hague PhD Student Environment,Climate change,political theology,community activism,faith-based activism,advocacy,mobilisation,environmental politics,environmental ethics,UK,USA,Sweden   alice.hague(at)ed.ac.uk
Ibrahim Sani PhD Student Elections,Political parties,Participation,Political representation,Civil Society and Democratization,participatory and deliberative democracy   I.Sani@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Yukinori Iwaki PhD Student political theory,Global justice,poverty,Environment,time and temporality,labour   s1000816@sms.ed.ac.uk
Patrick Jahnke PhD Student Socially Responsible Investment (SRI),Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR),International Political Economy,Stakeholder Theory,Financial Intermediation,Corporate Governance,Fiduciary Capitalism,Agency Theory,Shareholder Voting Rights   +44 (0) 7796 174778
p.d.jahnke@sms.ed.ac.uk
Laura Kandle PhD Student Islamic political thought,Islamism,Foreign Policy Analysis,IR and Middle East,Role Theory,State Socialization,Partisan Politics,Party Competition,Egyptian politics,Tunisian politics,Civil Society and Democratization  
Oliver Kearns PhD Student Secrecy,War and media,Debris,Covert state violence,Presence/absence,Drone strikes,Witnessing   O.B.Kearns@sms.ed.ac.uk
Konstantinos Kostagiannis PhD Student classical realism,International Relations,International theory,nationalism   kkostagi(at)exseed.ed.ac.uk
Hsinyen Lai PhD Student International Relations of the Middle East,Middle East Politics,Historical sociology,ideas and foreign policy,the Arab Left,the Arab Gulf states   s1264771@sms.ed.ac.uk
Shamiran Mako PhD Student International Relations,Comparative Politics,International Relations of the Middle East,Governing in divided societies,Iraq and the Middle East,Institutions and institutional change,State building,Ethnic conflict,Territorial politics   smako@wcfia.harvard.edu
David Martí PhD Student Territorial Politics,Nationalism and National Identity,Federalism,Multiculturalism,Democracy,Political Parties,Multi-level governance   davidmarti70@gmail.com
Sissela Matzner PhD Student Foreign Policy,Political parties,Responsibility,Narratives,Humanitarianism,Humanitarian intervention,Political violence,Conflict   smatzner@ed.ac.uk
May Darwich PhD Student International Relations of the Middle East,International Relations,Middle East Politics,IR and the Middle East,Balance of power,identity politics,ideas and foreign policy,Political Islam   may.darwich@durham.ac.uk
Oscar Moreno-Martinez PhD Student Technology and Innovation Studies,Colombian Armed Conflict,Military-Technical Change,Insurgency & Counter-Insurgency,United States Foreign Security Policy,War Studies   +44 744 911 5542
Oscar.Moreno@ed.ac.uk
Wassim Mroue PhD Student Middle East Politics,IR and Middle East,Sectarianism,the Gulf region,Israeli-Palestinian conflict   s1675407@sms.ed.ac.uk
Cera Murtagh PhD Student Post-conflict societies,Peace and conflict,Ethnicity and Identity,Nationalism and National Identity,Political parties,Social movements,gender politics   0131 651 3785
c.e.murtagh@sms.ed.ac.uk
Nataliya Muzyka PhD Student EU external relations,EU-third countries interactions,Europeanization,identity politics,European Union,International Relations,Ukraine,National Identity,Poland,transition studies,post-Soviet politics,Social network analysis,Elites   n.muzyka@sms.ed.ac.uk
James Nyomakwa-Obimpeh PhD Student   S1066747@sms.ed.ac.uk
P. Trent Olsen PhD Student Asylum,Human rights,identity politics,LGBT studies   P.T.Olsen@sms.ed.ac.uk
Nina Perkowski PhD Student EU border management,Frontex,Migration,Humanitarianism,border security,Human rights,critical migration research,European Union migration policy,irregular migration,critical security studies   n.perkowski@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Tanita Jill Poeggel PhD Student Immigration and asylum policy,political theory,asylum seekers and refugees,critical migration research,Migration and citizenship,Social movements,critical theory,national identity,Memory politics   s1655289@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Lorenzo Ranalli PhD Student   l.s.ranalli@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Zoey Reeve PhD Student Social psychology   Z.Reeve@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alexandra Remond PhD Student Britain,Canada,federal states,identity politics,nationalism,Politics,Comparative Politics,British-EU politics,Scotland,Political parties,Territorial Politics,Nationalism,Nationalism and National Identity,Scottish Independence Referendum,Quebec-Scotland comparisons,Political identities and citizenship,Election campaigning,Electoral Systems in Divided Societies,Electoral and Referendum behaviour,Montenegro,the Balkans   07857898712
a.remond@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Sofiane Sahnoun PhD Student identity politics,national identity,Citizenship and belonging   07778144310
s1368857@sms.ed.ac.uk
Anthony Salamone PhD Student European integration,European Union,British politics,UK's EU relations,UK foreign policy,Scottish politics,Europeanisation,Devolution,Public opinion,Public policy,Comparative politics   A.M.Salamone@ed.ac.uk
Elisabeth Schweiger PhD Student UN Security Council,War on terror,Discourse Theory,critical theory,International Law & International Relations,Law and Regulation   eschweig@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Andrew Scott PhD Student energy politics,energy security,business regulation,environmental politics,Public policy,Comparative Politics,policy networks,policy community,Politics of oil   s0823307@sms.ed.ac.uk
Judith Sijstermans PhD Student Political parties,European Union,Policy learning,Europeanization,Nationalism,Regionalism,Socialization,Policy networks,Policy transfer,Multi-level governance,British Politics   judith.sijstermans@ed.ac.uk
Mike Slaven PhD Student   Mike.Slaven@ed.ac.uk
Lukas Slothuus PhD Student Political theory,Political philosophy,Marxism,Critical theory,Resistance,Contentious politics   Lukas.Slothuus@ed.ac.uk
Saskia Smellie PhD Student Politics of Migration and Asylum Policy,Responsibility-Sharing,European Union,Foreign Policy,Role Theory   07530 882515
Saskia.Smellie@ed.ac.uk
Charlotte Snelling PhD Student Political participation,Youth participation,Elections,Campaigning,Student movements,Turnout,Voting behaviour,Quantitative methods   c.j.snelling@sms.ed.ac.uk
Larissa Toal PhD Student Feminism,Nationalism,women's and social movements,Critical Discourse Analysis,Gender and conflict   s1269429@sms.ed.ac.uk
Patrick Utz PhD Student Territorial politics,Federalism,Nationalism and Devolution,Party politics,Multi-level party politics,European Union,Europeanization,Language policy,identity politics,Consociationalism   patrick.utz@ed.ac.uk
Ingmar Versolmann PhD Student European Union,EU Energy Policy,New Institutionalism,EU external relations,European Intergration,Energy politics,Energy security   +44 (0) 778 774 4004
I.Versolmann@sms.ed.ac.uk
Gisli Vogler PhD Student political theory,Hannah Arendt,Critical Realism,Political Judgement,Social theory,Political Power   s1668190@sms.ed.ac.uk
Renske Vos PhD Student international law,Transnational Law,EU Crisis Management,EU military operations,International Security,governance,Practice Theory,legal theory,EU Bureaucracy,Migration,Libya   r.n.vos@sms.ed.ac.uk
Cat Wayland PhD Student Political Theory,Political Philosophy,Feminist Theory,Gender and Intersectionality,Critical Theory,Subjectivity and Politics of the Self,Theories of Oppression and Complicity,Neoliberalism and subjectivity,Resistance and solidarity   s1666266@sms.ed.ac.uk
Luba Zatsepina-McCreadie PhD Student Nuclear Weapons,Identity,Non-proliferation,Post-structuralism,Discourse Analysis,Gender,Cold War,IR and Security studies   L.Zatsepina@sms.ed.ac.uk, lzatsepi@exseed.ed.ac.uk