Skip to main content

Politics and International Relations (PIR): People

Search

People

PhD Students

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Monalisa Adhikari PhD Student Indian security and foreign policy,Chinese Foreign Policy,International peacebuilding,Fragile and conflict affected states,Political settlements,International Engagement,Emerging powers,Fragile States,South Asia,Nepal,Myanmar   s1349960@sms.ed.ac.uk
Talal Alkhadher PhD Student Middle East Politics,State formation,Arab political thought,Modernity,Moderation Theory,Social movements,Secularism,Islamic political thought,Egypt   T.Alkhadher@ed.ac.uk
Camilo Ardila ArĂ©valo PhD Student Peace and conflict,Theories of democracy,Comparative constitutionalism,just war theory,ethics,Peace and reconciliation processes   Camilo.Ardila@ed.ac.uk
Emilia Belknap PhD Student Gender & International Relations,Gender Theory,Scottish Politics,Nationalism and National Identity,Devolution and constitutional change in the UK,Critical Feminism,Feminist Theories and Research Practices,Voting behaviour,political behaviour,Comparative Political Behavior   Emilia.Belknap@ed.ac.uk
Francesco Bertoldi PhD Student Territorial politics,Elections,Ethnic conflict,Northern Ireland,Power-sharing agreements,Electoral Systems in Divided Societies,Identity Politics,Social Identity Theory,Discourse Analysis,Ethnicity and Identity   f.bertoldi@sms.ed.ac.uk
Benedikt Buechel PhD Student Political Theory,Statelessness,Territorial Rights,The Ethics of Migration   Benedikt.Buechel@ed.ac.uk
Thomas Charman PhD Student Gender,gender and international relations,gender based violence,sexual violence,Gender and conflict,Masculinities,Militarised Masculinities,Sexual violence against men,Feminism,Poststructuralism,Discourse Analysis,Frame Analysis   tcharman@exseed.ed.ac.uk, s1460585@sms.ed.ac.uk
Christina Dineen PhD Student Contemporary political theory,Political philosophy,Applied ethics,Ethics and morality,Resource allocation,Well-being,Bioethics   Doctoral Researcher
christina.dineen@ed.ac.uk
Yazmin Morlet Corti PhD Student privacy,online privacy,Cyberspace as political space,Political Culture,public policy,Comparative Politics,Big Data Analytics,big data,Science and technology,data protection,behaviour,attitudes,Quantitative Analysis,policy preferences   Yazmin.Morlet@ed.ac.uk
Cleo Davies PhD Student International Organisations,European studies,The politics of financial market supervision and regulation,International Political Economy   cleo.davies@ed.ac.uk
Kathy Dodworth PhD Student Theories of Legitimacy,Social capital,Foucault,state-society relations,NGOs and Development,Non-state actors,Bourdieu,Ethnography,Tanzania,African studies   kathy.dodworth@ed.ac.uk
Adrian Favero PhD Student European Union,Urban Governance,Return / transnational migration,Europeanisation and Globalisation,Central Eastern Europe   A.Favero@ed.ac.uk
Louis Fletcher PhD Student History of International Political Thought,Genealogical Critique,Political Realism,Critical Theory,Democratic Peace,Philosophy of History,Peace Research,Utopianism   louis.fletcher@ed.ac.uk
Isabella Gabrovsky PhD Student Britain,ethnography,identity politics,Migration and development,minority rights,Multiculturalism,nationalism,Policy,National Identity   Isabella.Gabrovsky@ed.ac.uk
Barbara Gaweda PhD Student gender,post-communism,post-Soviet politics,Central Eastern Europe,Feminism,Feminist institutionalism,Ukraine,Discourse Theory,Feminist Research,Postcolonialism,Europeanization,nationalism,Inequality,Feminist theory/research,Sexuality,discourse analysis,Gender & intersectionality   B.J.Gaweda@sms.ed.ac.uk
Joe Gazeley PhD Student Mali,Foreign Policy Analysis,EU External Relations,European Security,French Postcolonial Relations,State Formation   Joe.Gazeley@ed.ac.uk
Victor Gigleux PhD Student International Relations,Small States,European studies,International peace-keeping operations,EU external relations,Role Theory,Foreign Policy Analysis   +44(0)7842555104
victorgigleux14@gmail.com
Omar Alejandro Loera PhD Student Mexico,Foreign Policy,Domestic sources of Foreign Policy,Geopolitics,Mexico-U.S. relations,Autonomy in Foreign Policy,the structure/agency problem,Role Theory   +44 7712128579
o.loera@ed.ac.uk
Alice Hague PhD Student Environment,Climate change,community activism,faith-based activism,advocacy,mobilisation,environmental politics,environmental ethics,UK,USA,Sweden   alice.hague(at)ed.ac.uk
No Photo Philipp Heinrich PhD Student European Identities, Public Attachment to the EU, Public Attitudes, Experimental Approaches   philipp.heinrich@ed.ac.uk
Jessica E. Hewkin PhD Student Politics of immigration,Policy construction,American politics/history/political development,Feminist Research   jessica.hewkin@ed.ac.uk
Yukinori Iwaki PhD Student Social and Political Theory,Political Philosophy,Global justice,poverty,Environment,labour,time,Climate change   yiwaki@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Marc S. Jacob PhD Student Elections,organizations and institutions,Political parties,Quantitative Research,Comparative Political Behavior   M.S.Jacob@sms.ed.ac.uk
Patrick Jahnke PhD Student Socially Responsible Investment (SRI),Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR),International Political Economy,Stakeholder Theory,Financial Intermediation,Corporate Governance,Fiduciary Capitalism,Agency Theory,Shareholder Voting Rights   +49 172 342 7533
p.d.jahnke@sms.ed.ac.uk
Beth Katz PhD Student Social inclusion,Politics of immigration,Adaptation,Interdisciplinary research,Multi-level governance,Adaptive governance,Diversity,Inequality,Innovation,Immigration,Cross-sector collaboration,Coproduction,Mixed methods   beth.katz@ed.ac.uk
Hsinyen Lai PhD Student Historical sociology,Gramsci and Marxist Theory,ideas and foreign policy,International Relations of the Middle East,the Gulf Arab states,the Arab Left,nationalism and capitalism,China's Middle Eastern policy   s1264771@sms.ed.ac.uk
Yue Liu PhD Student International Relations,Regional Security,International Law of the Sea,Maritime Disputes,Geopolitics,China and East Asia,Southeast Asia,International Order Transformation,US-China/Asia relations   liu.yue@ed.ac.uk
Ritumbra Manuvie PhD Student Climate change Migration,Governance,Public Policy,Institutions and institutional change,South Asia,Borderlands,Wicked Problems   s0978558@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sissela Matzner PhD Student Foreign Policy,Political parties,Responsibility,Narratives,Humanitarianism,Political violence,Conflict,Military intervention  
Oscar Moreno-Martinez PhD Student Technology and Innovation Studies,Colombian Armed Conflict,Military-Technical Change,Insurgency & Counter-Insurgency,United States Foreign Security Policy,War Studies   oscar.moreno@ed.ac.uk
Wassim Mroue PhD Student Middle East Politics,IR and Middle East,Sectarianism   s1675407@sms.ed.ac.uk
Cera Murtagh PhD Student Post-conflict societies,Peace and conflict,Ethnicity and Identity,Nationalism and National Identity,Political parties,Social movements,gender politics   0131 651 3785
c.e.murtagh@sms.ed.ac.uk
Tanita Jill Poeggel PhD Student Immigration and asylum policy,political theory,asylum seekers and refugees,critical migration research,Migration and citizenship,Social movements,critical theory,national identity,Memory politics   s1655289@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Ioana Popescu PhD Student (re)humanisation,Aesthetic experiences,Peace and conflict,participatory research,Arts-Based Research Methods,Theatre & Performance,political emotions,Intercultural Communication,Identity and Alterity,creative learning,creative ethnography,International Relations,International Peace and Security,Interdisciplinary Research   Ioana.Popescu@ed.ac.uk
Alec Ross PhD Student Social and Political Theory,Refugee studies,Applied ethics,Human rights,refugees/migration and displacement;,marketisation,Immigration and asylum policy,Forced migration   (+44) (0)738 068 0708
Alec.Ross@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Sofiane Sahnoun PhD Student identity politics,national identity,Citizenship and belonging   07778144310
s1368857@sms.ed.ac.uk
Anthony Salamone PhD Student European integration,European Union,Brexit,Scottish-European relations,UK-EU relations,Scottish politics,Devolution,British politics,UK foreign policy,Public opinion,Public policy,Europeanisation,Comparative politics   A.M.Salamone@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Scott PhD Student energy politics,energy security,business regulation,environmental politics,Public policy,Comparative Politics,policy networks,policy community,Politics of oil   s0823307@sms.ed.ac.uk
Judith Sijstermans PhD Student Political parties,European Union,Policy learning,Europeanization,Nationalism,Regionalism,Socialization,Policy networks,Policy transfer,Multi-level governance,British Politics   judith.sijstermans@ed.ac.uk
Lukas Slothuus PhD Student Political theory,Political philosophy,Marxism,Critical theory,Resistance,Contentious politics,Political affect,Radical democracy,Civil disobedience   Lukas.Slothuus@ed.ac.uk
Saskia Smellie PhD Student Politics of Migration and Asylum Policy,Responsibility-Sharing,European Union,Foreign Policy,Role Theory   07530 882515
Saskia.Smellie@ed.ac.uk
Damian Strycharz PhD Student Russian foreign policy,Foreign policy analysis,Role theory,Post-Soviet space   damian.strycharz@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Yifang Sun PhD Student political psychology,US foreign policy,Foreign Policy Analysis   s1563324@sms.ed.ac.uk
Consuelo Thiers PhD Student political psychology,Foreign Policy Analysis,Latin American Foreign Policies,At-a-distance personality assessment of political leaders   +44 (0) 749 156 0106
consuelo.thiers@ed.ac.uk
Larissa Toal PhD Student Feminism,Nationalism,women's and social movements,Critical Discourse Analysis,Gender and conflict   s1269429@sms.ed.ac.uk
Patrick Utz PhD Student Territorial politics,Party politics,Europeanization   patrick.utz@ed.ac.uk
Kim Vender PhD Student Climate Change Policy,International Responsibility,Chinese Foreign Policy,Foreign Policy Change,Role Theory   kim.vender@ed.ac.uk
Ingmar Versolmann PhD Student European Union,EU Energy Policy,New Institutionalism,EU external relations,European Intergration,Energy politics,Energy security   +44 (0) 778 774 4004
I.Versolmann@sms.ed.ac.uk
Gisli Vogler PhD Student political theory,Social theory,Political memory and historical injustice,Theories of democracy,Power,the structure/agency problem,Critical Social and Political Theory   s1668190@sms.ed.ac.uk
Cat Wayland PhD Student Critical Social and Political Theory,Political Philosophy,Methodology in political theory,Exclusion,Critical epistemologies,politics of knowldge production,Decolonisation,Intersectionality   cwayland@ed.ac.uk
Luba Zatsepina-McCreadie PhD Student Nuclear Weapons,Identity,Non-proliferation,Post-structuralism,Discourse Analysis,Gender,Cold War,IR and Security studies   L.Zatsepina@sms.ed.ac.uk, lzatsepi@exseed.ed.ac.uk